Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Case Files Collection Available!
The Case Files Collection provides premier case content with the goal of improving learning outcomes.
- The complete collection of basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files® series books
- An interactive format to help students learn and retain knowledge through exposure to realistic patient cases
- Personalized functionality to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases
Please note. After you get into Case Files Collection via Medical Library Search on site or OpenAthens remotely, all the cases require the personalization tool, MyAccess profile, for the residents to work through the cases. You will still need to log in with your individually created MyAccess profile ID and PW
- How to Create MyAccess Profile: Click a down arrow button right next to our institution's name (St. Joseph's Medical Center) upper right hand corner on Case Files Collection or any Access Series and click "Sign in or Create a Free MyAccess Profile".
Search eJournals and eBooks:
Finding Journals to Submit?
Have you recently written a paper, but you're not sure to which journal you should submit it?
- Think Check Submit: Tool to help you discover and choose the right journal or Publisher for your research. Use the checklist to assess the journals and avoid Predatory journals.
- JANE (Journal/Author Name Estimator): A tool that compares your title and/or abstract to citations already in Medline and recommends potential journals in which to publish.
- Journal Metrics from Elsevier: Explains journal metrics: Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP), The Impact per Publication (IPP), SCImago Journal Rank (SJR)
- Journal Metrics from Wiley: Explains common journal metrics: Metric Name, Metric Score, Metric Description
- Journals Recently Accepted by NLM for Inclusion in MEDLINE: Periodically updated with new journals added to MEDLINE/PubMed.
- Journal Suggester from Springer: Enter your manuscript title & abstract, and the Journal Suggester will search over 2,500 Springer and BioMed Central journals to find suitable journals for your manuscript.
- IEEE Publication Recommender: Searches 170+ periodicals and 1500+ conferences from IEEE, provides factors such as Impact Factor and Submission-To-Publication Time.
- ChronosHub Journal Finder: Browse, search, filter, sort, and compare more than 40,000 journals to find the right journal without worry about publishing in compliance with your funders’ Open Access policy.
- PubMed Journal Finder:To verify that journals are indexed in Medline, choose "Journal" from the drop down menu next to the search box.
- NLM Catalog - Journals referenced in the NCBI Databases: Journals referenced in the NCBI Databases (PubMed, Protein, Gene, etc). Includes publication dates, abbreviations, full titles and more.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Find High-quality, Peer-reviewed OpenAccess Journals in all subjects and languages.
- Open Access Scholary Publishing Association (OASPA): To check whether a publisher is a member of the OASPA to avoid Predatory Publishing.
- Journal Evaluation Tool (PDF) from Loyola Marymount University