Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

St. Joseph's Hospital and Medical Center Library: Nursing Resources

Magnet Program

The ANCC model for the Magnet Recognition Program® serves as a road map for organizations seeking Magnet recognition.

Patient Safety and Quality: An Evidence-Based Handbook for Nurses

Patient Safety and Quality: An Evidence-Based Handbook for Nurses examines the broad range of issues involved in providing high quality and safe care across health care settings.

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) are pleased to have jointly sponsored the development of this handbook for nurses on patient safety and quality.

SJHMC Library Recommended Resources


 These links also can be found on SJHMC Library home page. 

  

Bioethics Research

PICO for Quantitative Search

A quantitative systematic review will include studies that have numerical data. 

P

I

C

O

Patient, Population or Problem

Intervention or exposure

Comparison

Outcome

What are the characteristics of the patient or population?

What is the condition or disease you are interested in?

 

What do you want to do with this patient (e.g. treat, diagnose, observe)?

What is the alternative to the intervention (e.g. placebo, different drug, surgery)?

What are the relevant outcomes (e.g. morbidity, death, complications)?

PICo for Qualitative Studies

Qualitative systematic review derives data from observation, interviews, or verbal interactions and focuses on the meanings and interpretations of the participants. It will include focus groups, interviews, observations and diaries.

P

I

Co

Population

Interest

Context

What are the characteristics of the patient or population?

 What is the condition or disease you are interested

The phenomena of Interest relates to a defined event, activity, experience or process

Context is the setting or distinct characteristics.

Note: Context not comparator

Nursing Websites

All Nursing Schools
All Nursing Schools is an online directory of nursing education and careers. The site includes a detailed description of nursing schools and nursing programs that are members of the All Nursing Schools network. The database is searchable by degree type, location, or specialty. 

American Academy of Nursing (AAN)
The American Academy of Nursing (AAN) is comprised of approximately 1500 nursing leaders in education, management, practice and research. Resources include Nursing Outlook magazine available full-text to AAN members and personal subscribers. Access to tables of contents and abstracts is complimentary.  

American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN)
American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is the national voice for America's baccalaureate- and higher-degree nursing education programs. AACN's purpose is to establish quality standards for bachelor's- and graduate-degree nursing education and assist deans and directors to implement those standards.

American Holistic Nurses' Association (AHNA)
Founded in 1981, AHNA supports the concepts of holism: a state of harmony among body, mind, emotions and spirit within an ever-changing environment and serves as a bridge between the traditional medical paradigm and universal complementary and alternative healing practices. American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN). 

American Nurses Association (ANA)
The American Nurses Association (ANA), founded in 1896, is a national, professional membership organization for Registered Nurses. This is the official web site of the ANA Nursing World. The website has a long list of standards on nursing practice, nursing education, and nursing services issued and updated on a regular basis.  \

American Nurses Association's Nursing World
Links to state nurses associations and allied nursing organizations globally. 

American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC)
The American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), an ANA subsidiary, provides for certification of nurses and credentialing of organizations that provide continuing nursing education. The web site has detailed information on certification, the accreditation program, Credentialing International, the Institute for Credentialing Innovation, and the Magnet Recognition Program.  

Association of Rehabilitation Nurses (ARN)
The Association of Rehabilitation Nurses (ARN) promotes and advances professional rehabilitation nursing practice through education, advocacy, collaboration, and research. Included at this Web site are; membership, chapters, education, certification, awards & scholarships, research, online store, and job postings. A variety of resources are available on ARN's Web site. 

BestNursingDegree.Com

Welcome to one of the most comprehensive directory of accredited nursing programs in US.

Is a Career in Nursing Right for You?
A career awareness Web site designed to support students in Nursing career exploration.

International Centre for Human Resources in Nursing (ICHRN)

ICHRN is Your gateway to tools, standards and information on nursing human resources policy, management,
research, practice, and more...

Medscape Nurses

Medscape Nursing offers medical information, educational tools, journal articles, and other resources. There is a simple, 1-time, free registration.  

National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN)
NCSBN, composed of Member Boards, provides leadership to advance regulatory excellence for public protection.  NCSBN's programs and services include developing the NCLEX-RN® and NCLEX-PN® examinations, performing policy analysis and promoting uniformity in relationship to the regulation of nursing practice.  The site includes a link to the Nurse Practice Act. 

National Database of Nursing Quality Indicators (NDNQI)
The National Database of Nursing Quality Indicators (NDNQI) is a proprietary database of the American Nurses Association. The database collects and evaluates unit-specific nurse-sensitive data from hospitals in the United States.  Continuing Education Credit hours are available for completion of the NDNQI Pressure Ulcer Training Modules and Tests.  

National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)
NINR is dedicated to improving the health and health care of Americans through the funding of nursing research and research training.  NINR offers research opportunities for both Extramural and Intramural (on the NIH campus) Programs. The Grant Development and Management Resources page includes numerous NINR and NIH information sheets and learning aids for both funded investigators and applicants.  

NP Central
NP Central is a nonprofit site dedicated to practice development, advancement, and educational support of nurse practitioners and to the promotion of accessible, quality health care to the consumer. The Directory link provides the latest contact information about the state organizations listed in alphabetical order by state.

  

NursingCenter

Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins gives practicing nurses, researchers, and educators direct access to powerful educational opportunities and information. Includes CE articles in full text with immediate test results and certificates; 50 nursing journals with table of contents and abstracts; and databases of certification, licensure, and nursing organizations.  Membership is free and allows access to additional online tools and features. 

Nursingcareercenter.info

Guide to Nursing Careers, Degrees, Schools and Job Search Resources.

 

PDAs for Nurses
Links to sites about where to access/purchase clinical reference resources for handheld devices.  

Sigma Theta Tau International /Nursing Knowledge International
STTI subsidiary offers access to free and fee-based evidence-based nursing resources developed by leading organizations around the globe. Nursing Conferences link provides information to upcoming conferences from around the globe  

Sigma Theta Tau International /Virginia Henderson Electronic Library
Databases about nurse researchers and research, including abstracts of STTI and other nursing research conferences; tables of content for STTI publications Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing, Journal of Nursing Scholarship, and Reflections on Nursing Leadership.  

Syllabi for Practicing Evidence-Based Nursing
Sponsored by the Toronto General Hospital Department of Medicine, this website helps develop, disseminate, and evaluate resources that can be used to practice and teach EBP for Nursing.

Evidence-Based Nursing Practice

"Clinical decision making based on the simultaneous use of the best evidence, clinical expertise, and patients' values."

- Larrabee, J. H. (2009). Nurse to nurse: Evidence-based practice. New York: McGraw-Hill. 

Steps in the Evidence-Based

Nursing Process

The Patient
The Patient

 1. Start with the patient – a clinical problem or question arises out of the care of the patient.
The Question
The Question		 2. Construct a well built clinical question derived from the case.
The Resource
The Resource		 3. Select the appropriate resource(s) and conduct a search.
Evaluation
Appraise the Literature		 4. Appraise that evidence-based literature for its validity (closeness to the truth) and applicability (usefulness in clinical practice).
The Patient
Assess the Evidence		 5. Bring the results of your assessment of the literature to the Research and Evidence-Based Nursing Practice Council (REBNPC)to determine if the evidence, combined with clinical expertise and patient preferences, supports a change in nursing practice.
Self-Evaluation
Implementation of Nursing Clinical Change in Practice  		 6. If approved, the REBNPC will work with you to establish and to evaluate the clinical change in practice. 

Inspired by the tutorial provided by 
Duke University Medical Center Library and Health Sciences Library, 

ABC's of Measurement (National Quality Forum)

SJHMC Research and Evidence-Based Practice Nursing Practice Council (REBNPC)

Review of the Literature

Introduction

1. Introduction

Not to be confused with a book review, a literature review surveys scholarly articles, books and other sources (e.g. dissertations, conference proceedings) relevant to a particular issue, area of research, or theory, providing a description, summary, and critical evaluation of each work. The purpose is to offer an overview of significant literature published on a topic.

 2. Components

Similar to primary research, development of the literature review requires four stages:

  • Problem formulation—which topic or field is being examined and what are its component issues?
  • Literature search—finding materials relevant to the subject being explored
  • Data evaluation—determining which literature makes a significant contribution to the understanding of the topic
  • Analysis and interpretation—discussing the findings and conclusions of pertinent literature

Literature reviews should comprise the following elements:

  • An overview of the subject, issue or theory under consideration, along with the objectives of the literature review
  • Division of works under review into categories (e.g. those in support of a particular position, those against, and those offering alternative theses entirely)
  • Explanation of how each work is similar to and how it varies from the others
  • Conclusions as to which pieces are best considered in their argument, are most convincing of their opinions, and make the greatest contribution to the understanding and development of their area of research

In assessing each piece, consideration should be given to:

  • Provenance—What are the author's credentials? Are the author's arguments supported by evidence (e.g. primary historical material, case studies, narratives, statistics, recent scientific findings)?
  • Objectivity—Is the author's perspective even-handed or prejudicial? Is contrary data considered or is certain pertinent information ignored to prove the author's point?
  • Persuasiveness—Which of the author's theses are most/least convincing?
  • Value—Are the author's arguments and conclusions convincing? Does the work ultimately contribute in any significant way to an understanding of the subject?

3. Definition and Use/Purpose

A literature review may constitute an essential chapter of a thesis or dissertation, or may be a self-contained review of writings on a subject. In either case, its purpose is to:

  • Place each work in the context of its contribution to the understanding of the subject under review
  • Describe the relationship of each work to the others under consideration
  • Identify new ways to interpret, and shed light on any gaps in, previous research
  • Resolve conflicts amongst seemingly contradictory previous studies
  • Identify areas of prior scholarship to prevent duplication of effort
  • Point the way forward for further research
  • Place one's original work (in the case of theses or dissertations) in the context of existing literature

The literature review itself, however, does not present new primary scholarship.

 

 

History of Nursing: 101 Links

Health Literacy: Teaching Resources

Clinical Librarian -- Nursing Resources

Nursing Tutorial -- Evidence-Based Practice

Nursing Apps

 

  • Winthrop University Hospital - Mobile Apps
  • Nursing Central from Unbound Medicine (FEE)
  • NLM Mobile Apps
  •  Medscape: FREE. Drug, disease & condition, and procedure reference, medical calculator, medline access. Developed and maintained by WebMD, more known for their consumer health information, but provides decent ready reference.
  • Pocket Anatomy: $20. Anatomy app with 9 layers of musculoskeletal and neurovascular content. Allows users to "pin" data for search and retrieval. Three forms of testing: locate structures, multiple-choice, and flashcards.
  • Goodreader: $5. Document and PDF reader and editor. Allows for reading, sharing, and annotation of PDF and other document files. An app like this is crucial for getting around the limitations Apple products in particular have with PDF and DOCs.
  • Khan Academy: FREE. More than 3,000 videos, subtitled for convenient scanning, on subjects including K–12 math, biology, finance, and standardized test preparation are included. Users who have personal Khan Academy accounts can log in and get credit for the videos they watch.
  • Nursetabs: MedSurg: $9.99. In summary, this application is a reference for nurses and nursing students that utilizes the Nursing Process (ADPIE) for common medical surgical diseases/ disorders.
  • Lab Values Pro: $2.99. The lab reference app with by far the most features on the app store! Now available for both iPad and iPhone in a single app! 3 in 1: Lab Values, Abbv, Prefix/Suffix is the premium resource for all healthcare professionals and students. Inside this one app you’ll find Lab Reference Values, Medical Abbreviations and Medical Prefix/Suffixes.

 

Identifying a Problem: A toolkit prepared by the REBNPC