LibGuides: St. Joseph's Hospital and Medical Center Library: Mobile

Mobile Resources

This site should automatically convert to a mobile-friendly version. Some of the resources will automatically recognize if you are on a mobile but many you will have to download an app from the webpage.

Many require you to log into Athens off-site authentication which can be found on the resources' pages or below.

Note: If you are prompted to log in to use a resource after you have logged in via Athens, look for a "Athens Login" link. After you click it, you will be taken to the resource.

AHRQ ePSS- Electronic Preventive Services Selector
AHRQ's Electronic Preventive Services Selector (ePSS) is a quick, hands-on tool designed to help primary care clinicians identify and offer the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients. The ePSS is based on the current, evidence-based recommendations of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) and can be searched by specific patient characteristics, such as age, sex, and selected behavioral risk factors.
AIDSinfo HIV/AIDS Glossary
The AIDSinfo HIV/AIDS Glossary is a powerful tool that provides mobile access to over 850 pertinent HIV/AIDS glossary terms in both English and Spanish.
AIDSinfo Mobile
The latest federally approved HIV/AIDS medical practice guidelines, HIV treatment and prevention clinical trials, and other research information.
Archimedes
Archimedes is a uniquely innovative calculator application with over 150 essential tools which give you results in seconds. No more looking up complicated formulas and struggling with variables - just enter the necessary values in Archimedes and get the answers you need.
CINAHL
App available for Apple products and Android.
CINAHL® provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2.3 million records dating back to 1981. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
DailyMed
Provides high quality information about marketed drugs, including FDA labels (package inserts).
Diagnosaurus

McGraw-Hill's Diagnosaurus 2.0, the FREE medical software app, is updated for the new age in healthcare and used by tens of thousands of students, physicians, and health professionals. Download the FREE Diagnosaurus 2.0 tool which has 1000+ differential diagnosis to help you make informed decisions. Diagnosaurus 2.0 is derived from McGraw-Hill's most trusted Quick Answers.
Health Business FullText
App available for Apple products and Android.
Journal articles on all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care management.
Topics covered include hospital management, hospital administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities management and insurance.
Health Hotlines
Health Hotlines is a directory of organizations with toll-free telephone numbers. It is derived from DIRLINE, the National Library of Medicine's Directory of Information Resources Online. This database contains descriptions of almost 9,000 biomedical organizations and resources.
LactMed App
Need to know more about drugs and breastfeeding? LactMed can help. Find information about maternal and infant drug levels, possible effects on lactation and on breastfed infants, and alternative drugs to consider.
MEDLINE (Ebsco)
App available for Apple products and Android.
MEDLINE® provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
MedlinePlus Mobile
Authoritative consumer health information from MedlinePlus.gov in a mobile-optimized Web site that includes summaries for over 800 diseases, conditions and wellness topics as well as the latest health news, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, and information on prescription and over-the-counter medications. Available via the Web browser of any mobile device.
PubMed for Handhelds
A Web site for searching MEDLINE® with the Web browser of any mobile device.
PubMed Mobile
Provides a simplified, mobile-friendly Web interface to access PubMed. PubMed contains millions of article citations from thousands of biomedical journals. Many citations include abstracts.
Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM)
Downloadable application providing health care providers with guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of radiation injuries during radiation and nuclear emergencies. Available for multiple types of mobile devices including Windows Mobile, Apple iPhone and iPod touch (iPad compatible), Android, and Blackberry devices.
Stat!Ref e-books
• STAT!Ref App for Apple products
• STAT!Ref BlackBerry App
• STAT!Ref Android™ App coming soon!
Wireless System for Emergency Responders (WISER)
Stand-alone application (or downloadable application) to assist emergency responders in hazardous materials incidents. Available for multiple types of mobile devices including Windows Mobile, Apple iPhone and iPod touch (iPad compatible), Palm OS PDAs, and Blackberry (Internet connectivity required) devices.

Recommended Medical Apps

Figure 1
Free photo sharing for healthcare professionals. View a growing library of high quality clinical images and safely share your own.

more... less...

Figure 1 has been called "Instagram for doctors!"
OB Pregnancy Wheel
This app calculates exactly 280 days (40 weeks) from LMP to EDC, and accordingly for any date in between.
PubMed Mobile
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
UpToDate Moblie Access
First, you must register using a Dignity Health network computer, and your Dignity Health email. Then, you may download the free App (see link below) and use the username and password you created to access the UpToDate app on your mobile device.

more... less...

http://www.uptodate.com/home/uptodate-mobile-access