Skip to main content

GME Resources: Research Support

Research Video Tutorials

This guide contains concise explanations & short video tutorials to help you get the most from the Library's online resources and services. Choose from the following links to short video tutorials or use the drop-down menu on this tab:

Useful Research Books

Munro's Statistical Methods for Health Care Research

Call Number: WA 950 Mun 2013

Statistical Methods in Epidemiologic Research

Call Number: WA 950 M571s 2016

Primer of Biostatistics

Call Number: WA 950 G545p 2001

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

Call Number: WZ 345 P976 2001

Writing Research Papers: A Complete Guide

Call Number: WA 20 L4 1999

Writing Research Papers: A Complete Guide

Call Number: WA 20 L4 2001

Clinical Research Manual

Call Number: WA 20.5 2013

Basic & Clinical Biostatistics

Call Number: WA 950 D272b 2001

Publishing Research

To encourage the free dissemination of research which is often stifled by high journal subscription costs, the scientific and library communities often encourage researchers to publish in Open Access (OA) journals. OA resources are peer-reviewed scholarly resources that are free to access and are freely reproducible with proper acknowledge and citation. 

Publication in Open Access journals increases the visibility and research impact of published research, freely provides an access to published research for readers, increases the sharing of the research, and research impact tracking. However, there are disadvantages of publishing in OA journals, which are the varying degree of peer-review process causing low quality research publication, data sharing jeopardize the research of junior researchers, and publication fee.

OA Publication Process:

  • Write research article.
  • Conduct a search for a potential OA journal for publication using Directory of Open Access Journals and Open Access Scholarly Publisher Association.
  • Verify authority of the journal using Web of Science Journal Citation Report.
  • Determine if journals are indexed by academic databases.
  • Determine the self-archiving privileges, rights, and permissions.
  • Explore journal publication information (e.g., IF, JCR, SJR), editorial information, and publication fee.
  • Explore an information for authors that is required for submission in OA journal. 

Data gathered during a research experiments can be analyzed using statistical software, graphical tools, and programming language. Many of these tools are freely available for download from open sources, whereas SPSS is available upon request from the WRNMMC Department of Research Programs. 

Loading ...

Citatation and Research Management Tools

 

EndNote

Zotero

Mendeley

RefWorks

Link to web guides Technical Support & Services Documentation Support

Quick-Start Guides

Type

Desktop client software; also has web interface, EndNote Web.

Desktop software and browser add-on for Firefox, Chrome, and Safari (newest version includes single sign-on through zotero.org)

Desktop software and web-based. Works with IE, Firefox, Chrome and Safari.

Web-based.

Cost

Desktop software available at the GME office. EndNote Web Basic with 2GB storage is free.

Free with 300 MB of back-up storage. Storage upgrades available for a monthly fee. Open source.

Download Zotero

Free with 2GB of web space and 100 MB shared library space. Storage upgrades available for a monthly fee.

Download Mendeley

Since St. Joseph's does not have a site license, individual subscription is needed. Sign up for an individual account on the RefWorks website

Learning curve Takes longer to learn, but not difficult with training. Quick to learn; simple design, many online user guides and demos. Quick to learn. Simple interface. Fairly quick to learn; many online user guides and demos.

Strengths?

  • Excellent for organizing citations for papers and theses
  • Best option for major research projects, because it offers the most options for customization and formatting
  • Can handle a large amount of references
  • Simple download of records
  • Good for managing a variety of formats, including webpages
  • Offers most functionality in a free, open-source product
  • Downloads records from with several databases that don't work with EndNote and RefWorks, such as Factiva and USPTO 
  • Great for managing PDFs
  • Can see what other users are reading and citing. Find other members with common research interests.
  • Does an excellent job of pulling citation metadata from PDFs
  • Can share citations and documents with others
  • Allows users to share citations
  • Good for organizing citations for papers
  • Web-based

How does it work

Export references from compatible databases into EndNote.

Zotero can tell when one is looking at an item and shows an icon for it in the Firefox URL bar.  Click the icon to add the item to Zotero references.

Export references from compatible databases. Mendeley will also retrieve metadata for PDFs that are brought in.

Export references from compatible databases into RefWorks.

Does it have many output styles and bibliographic formats?

Yes, many popular styles and formats.

Yes, many popular styles and formats.

Yes, many popular styles and formats.

Yes, many popular styles and formats.

How simple is it to import records? Simple to import records from most research databases. Very simple, as long as the resource is compatible with Zotero. Verify that the records are complete after importing. Very simple using the Mendeley browser plugin. However, the import doesn't work with as many databases as other products. Simple to import records from most research databases

What kinds of records can be imported and organized (PDFs, images, etc.)?

Can organize records for articles and books; PDFs and other file types can also be stored in the records. Can download PDFs in batches. PDFs aren't searchable.

Books, articles, patents, and webpages; Can also store PDFs, web screenshots, files, and images in records. Can make PDFs searchable by choosing to index them in the preferences menu.

Can import bibliographic citations and PDFs.Can also manually add citations.

Records for articles and books.

Are records in the library viewable by others? No. Yes. Users can set up individual and group profiles and share records. Yes; Users can set up groups to share references and can decide whether or not to make their library viewable by others. Yes; Users can share references in library with other RefWorks users.
Can it export records to other citation software? Yes. Yes. Yes. Export to EndNote XML, RIS and BibTeX. Yes.
Is managing and maintaining a big library (1000 records) complicated? Not complex, EndNote is best option for maintaining large libraries. More difficult; takes time to sort out duplicates and verify that records are complete. No known problems. May need to purchase extra space. Not complex, but it can be cumbersome to manage large libraries.
Does it work with word processing software? Clean integration with Word and powerful formatting and customization features; also works with Open Office and LaTex  through BibTex Works with Word and Open Office; also works with LaTex through BibTex. Can create a list of Works Cited for Google Docs Works with Word and OpenOffice. Works with Word through "Write-N-Cite" feature and LaTex through BibTex
Does it back up records? No. Yes, if chosen to back up or sync with Zotero library. A small amount of storage is free. Yes. Yes.
Other important features
  • PDF file management and organization features
  • If records are backed up, it can sync multiple computers
  • Integrate work on web that is done
  • Fastest download of records
  • Saves snapshot of web pages
  • Allows users to highlight text and take notes on page
  • Allows users to tag records
  • Very good for collaborative work
  • Has a good PDF reader that enables highlighting and comments
  • PDF file management and organization features

 This chart was taken from Penn Libraries. 

What is EndNote?

​EndNote is a reference and full-text organizer that allows you to create bibliographies and format documents in a large number of output styles.

St. Joseph's Medical Center has a multi-user license for EndNote.  Contact the GME research director Teri Kozik or Helen Chang to get a user license for your scholarly research activities.

EndNote is available as a standalone software product, a cloud based product known as EndNote Web, or a combination of the two. 

Use EndNote to:

  • Search hundreds of online resources for references and PDFs. 
  • Read, review, annotate, and search PDFs
  • Create rules to automatically organize references as you work.
  • Share a library or just a portion with new group collaboration options.
  • Build your bibliography using latest reference types and ensure bibliography accuracy with refreshed journal and referencing styles.

This was inspired by Penn Libraries.  

What is Zotero?

Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, open-source, easy-to-use citation management tool to help you collect, organize, and cite your research sources. It lives right where you do your work in the web browser itself. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.

Use Zotero to:

  • Create a personal database online
  • Import references automatically from most research databases and library catalogs
  • Organize and annotate references
  • Format references and bibliographies in Microsoft Word and other word processing program documents
  • Format citations automatically in any of hundreds of styles, such as the Chicago Manual of Style, APA, and MLA
  • Share your citations or collaborate with others online through Zotero Group 

Get started in four easy steps:

1. Create your free Zotero account

2. Download and install the Zotero application

3. Sync your account by adding your username and password to the app in your Preferences > Sync

4. Add a browser connection to save items on the go

This was inspired by Penn Libraries.  

What is Mendeley?
Mendeley is a free* research tool that assists at every stage of the research process, from gathering research to reading and annotating PDFs to organizing citations and creating bibliographies. Mendeley replicates features that are found in other citation management tools  (EndNote, RefWorks, Zotero, Academia.edu, LinkedIn, SelectedWorks, Papers, etc..) but also provides Reference ManagerPDF Organizer and Social Network.

Mendely provides a word citation plug-in, can save PDFs to your desktop/web library via a browser plug-in, and is compatible with Mac, Windows, and Linux. 

*Mendeley offers a free basic account, which provides 2 GB of storage,but you can access premium features and additional storage for a monthly fee starting at 4.99/month. You can find more information on individual and team plans on the Mendeley Upgrade page.

Accessing Mendeley
There are several ways to add and edit information on your Mendeley account, including:

This was inspired by Penn Libraries.   

Loading ...