Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AACN Procedure Manual for High Acuity, Progressive, and Critical Care by The AACN Procedure Manual for High Acuity, Progressive, and Critical Care, 7th Edition, authored by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses, is the authoritative reference to procedures performed in high acuity, progressive, and critical care settings. It visually guides you through procedures unique to the adult critical care environment, including those performed by advanced practice nurses, in an illustrated, step-by-step format. This edition features 17 new procedures, new illustrations, and updated content throughout, reflecting the latest evidence-based guidelines and national and international protocols. Authored by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses, the foremost authority in critical care nursing, the AACN Procedure Manual is the most authoritative reference to procedures performed by nurses in high acuity, progressive, and critical care settings. Comprehensive coverage includes all procedures commonly performed by nurses in high acuity, progressive, and critical care settings, including those performed by advanced practice nurses (indicated by an AP icon). A straightforward step-by-step organization uses consistent headings to make following a procedure (and finding the various supporting elements) quick and easy. Rationales for all interventions in patient and family education, assessment, patient preparation, procedure, and monitoring help you understand the reason for every step. The level of evidence is provided when an evidence base exists to substantiate an intervention, giving insight into the strength of information available. Advanced practice procedures are clearly identified with an AP icon so you can judge whether a procedure is within your scope of practice. Alphabetical Procedure Index inside the front cover provides quick access to the procedures. Written by more than 100 expert critical care nurses and extensively reviewed by more than 100 experts in critical care nursing to ensure the accuracy and currency of each procedure. Bulleted lists, tables, and detailed illustrations throughout ensure that content is easy to reference and digest. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest evidence-based guidelines and national and international protocols. NEW! 17 new procedures reflect major additions to nursing practice in high acuity, progressive, and critical care settings. NEW! Engaging new illustrations of procedures, equipment, and techniques are integrated throughout.
Publication Date: 2016-12-16
NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses by Fully updated and revised by editors T. Heather Herdman, PhD, RN, FNI, and Shigemi Kamitsuru, PhD, RN, FNI, NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses: Definitions and Classification 2018-2020, Eleventh Edition is the definitive guide to nursing diagnoses, as reviewed and approved by NANDA International (NANDA-I). In this new edition of a seminal text, the authors have written all introductory chapters at an undergraduate nursing level, providing the critical information needed for nurses to understand assessment, its link to diagnosis and clinical reasoning, and the purpose and use of taxonomic structure for the nurse at the bedside. Other changes include: 18 new nursing diagnoses and 72 revised diagnoses Updates to 11 nursing diagnosis labels, ensuring they are consistent with current literature and reflect a human response Modifications to the vast majority of the nursing diagnosis definitions, including especially Risk Diagnoses Standardization of diagnostic indicator terms (defining characteristics, related factors, risk factors, associated conditions, and at-risk populations) to further aid clarity for readers and clinicians Coding of all diagnostic indicator terms for those using electronic versions of the terminology Web-based resources include chapter and reference lists for new diagnoses Rigorously updated and revised, NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses: Definitions and Classification 2018-2020, Eleventh Edition is a must-have resource for all nursing students, professional nurses, nurse educators, nurse informaticists, and nurse administrators.
Publication Date: 2017-06-29
Cardiac Nursing by Cardiac Nursing: A Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease is the only comprehensive text available for cardiac nurses. This brand-new reference emphasizes both evidence-based practice and hands-on care in a high-tech, high-touch approach that meets the high-stakes needs of cardiac and critical care nurses. What's more, the book makes the material easily accessible by using clear language, straightforward text, and plenty of illustrations, lists, and tables. This book is the third in a series of companion texts for Braunwald's Heart Disease and the first specifically for nurses. Authored by the widely published, well-known co-editors of The Journal of Cardiovascular Nursing--two leaders in cardiac nursing. Endorsed by the authors of Braunwald's Heart Disease, including Eugene Braunwald, the physician considered by many to be the "father of modern cardiology." Evidence-based Practice boxes highlight research-supported advances in knowledge and care practices. Conundrum boxes helps readers hone their critical thinking skills by tackling tough questions for which there may be no easy answers. Technology boxes keeps readers up to date with the latest technological advances. Genetics boxes helps readers understand connections between genes and heart disease. Pharmacology tables present important drug-related information at a glance. A guide to cardiac abbreviations and acronyms gives nurses quick access to essential information.
Publication Date: 2007-08-08
Drain's PeriAnesthesia Nursing by Trusted for 30 years, Drain's PeriAnesthesia Nursing, A Critical Care Approach, 7th Edition is the only book on the market that provides comprehensive clinical content tailored specifically for perianesthesia nurses. An easy-to-use format with five distinct sections - covering the PACU, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, nursing care, and special considerations - means you get five books in one. Nursing and pharmacologic interventions are integrated with in-depth coverage of pathophysiology, and updated content includes the latest standards and current issues affecting perianesthesia nursing practice. Focusing on research, documentation, and psychosocial considerations, this is the one book that can take you all the way from being a novice nurse in the PACU to preparing for your CPAN® or CAPA® certification! Updated Evidence-based Research boxes in sections IV and V provide the latest standards of care. Five separate sections provide comprehensive coverage, including: the PACU, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, nursing care, and special considerations. Addresses current policies and issues affecting perianesthesia nursing practice such as patient safety, infection control, managed care implications, pain management, and bioterrorism. Special Considerations section details the care of patients with conditions such as malignant hyperthermia, substance abuse, sickle cell anemia, and cardiac arrest. Comprehensively covers the various types of anesthetic agents to be anticipated in the PACU. In-depth coverage of pathophysiology for all body systems integrated with nursing and pharmacologic interventions. Streamlined format includes an overview, definitions, summary, and references for each chapter. NEW and EXPANDED! Updated content covers the latest evidence and standards, including new sedation and pain guidelines, new information on older patients, implications of new surgical techniques, and more bariatric implications. NEW and UPDATED! New illustrations and thoroughly updated references throughout.
Publication Date: 2017-02-15
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2022 by Access immediate answers on the medical conditions you're likely to see with this unique, bestselling resource! Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2022 uses the popular "5 books in 1" format to deliver vast amounts of information in a clinically relevant, user-friendly manner. This practical reference is updated annually to provide easy access to answers on over 1,000 common medical conditions, including diseases and disorders, differential diagnoses, clinical algorithms, laboratory tests, and clinical practice guidelines-all carefully reviewed by experts in key clinical fields. Extensive algorithms, along with hundreds of clear photographs, illustrations, diagrams, and tables, ensure that you stay current with today's medical practice. Contains significant updates throughout, covering all aspects of current diagnosis and treatment. Features 30 all-new topics including Covid-19 disease, anal cancer, electronic cigarette or vaping-associated lung injury (EVALI), gaming disorder, early pregnancy loss, smoke inhalation injury, and subjective cognitive decline, among others. Includes useful appendices covering common herbs in integrated medicine and herbal activities against pain and chronic diseases; care of the transgender patient, palliative care; preoperative evaluation, and more. Offers online access to Patient Teaching Guides in both English and Spanish. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2021-06-24
Gahart's 2022 Intravenous Medications by Find the essential information you need to safely administer more than 400 intravenous drugs! For more than 45 years, Gahart's Intravenous Medications: A Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals has been a trusted resource for comprehensive drug coverage, unparalleled accuracy, and an intuitive quick-access format. In addition to updated drug interactions, precautions, alerts, and patient teaching instructions for all existing IV drugs, the 2022 edition includes approximately 10 new monographs of the most recent IV drugs to be approved by the FDA. Administering intravenous drugs is a critical task - inaccurate or out-of-date information is not an option. Known as the #1 IV drug handbook on the market, and with its history of impeccable accuracy, Gahart's annual publication gives you the extra confidence and guidance you need to safely and effectively treat patients. Monographs on more than 400 IV drugs offer an impressive breadth of coverage that goes well beyond any comparable drug reference. Updated annual publication prevents you from referencing outdated information. Additional drug monographs are provided on the companion Evolve website. 45-year history of impeccable accuracy reinforces the importance of safe IV drug administration. Perfect depth of information equips you with everything that is needed for safe administration of IV drugs - nothing more, nothing less. Proven, clinically optimized format keeps all dosage information for each drug on either a single page or a two-page spread to prevent hand contamination by having to turn a page. Highlighted Black Box Warnings and relevant content make locating critical information fast and easy. Special circumstances in blue-screened text call attention to important circumstances that may not warrant Black Box Warnings. Life-stage dosage variances are highlighted for geriatric, pediatric, infant, and neonatal patients. Dilution and dosage charts within monographs provide quick access to essential clinical information. Convenient, alphabetical format organizes all drug monographs by generic name, allowing you to find any drug in seconds. NEW! Drug monographs for newly approved drugs by the FDA provide you with the most current drug information. Updates on drug interactions, precautions, alerts, and more have been made throughout the guide to reflect all changes to existing medications.
Publication Date: 2021-05-28
Huszar's ECG and 12-Lead Interpretation by Huzar's ECG and 12-Lead Interpretation, 5th Edition, by Keith Wesley, M.D., helps you correlate ECG interpretation with clinical findings to identify and address selected heart rhythms. The text is structured to match the order in which you learn specific skills: ECG components are presented first, followed by rhythm interpretation and clinical implications. Take-Home Points, key definitions, chapter review questions, and practice strips help you understand and retain complex information NEW! Discusses the difference between sinus arrest and SA block to help clarify concepts that learners often find confusing. UPDATED! STEMI and NSTEMI treatment guidelines updated to the latest standards. Coverage of both basic and advanced concepts incorporates the latest research developments and provides material pertinent to both beginning and experienced prehospital care providers. UPDATED and EXPANDED! Key characteristics of each heart rhythm are summarized to allow you to learn or review each rhythm at a glance. Patient care algorithms outline step-by-step management and treatment, correlating ECG interpretation with history and exam findings. Advanced treatment content, such as complete coverage of thrombus formation, treatment, and management, offers critical information for both hospital and prehospital settings. UPDATED AND EXPANDED! Key definitions define important terms right on the page, near relevant content, making it unnecessary to flip to the back-of-book glossary while reading or studying. Key definitions, chapter review questions, and glossary updated to reflect new content. Chapter review questions (with answers in an appendix) test your understanding of key topics. Appendix with 200+ practice strips, questions, and answer keys reinforces major concepts and ties information together. UPDATED! Glossary defines key terms, supplementing the on-page Key Definitions. Expert authorship from Dr. Keith Wesley, who has been involved in EMS since 1989 and is a board-certified emergency medicine physician. Self-assessment answer key allows you to check their own work for self-evaluation. Chapter outlines offer a quick overview of each chapter's content. NEW! Updated content throughout ensures all chapters comply with the latest 2015 ECC guidelines. NEW! ECG Keys boxes highlight basic clinical information, such as indications and end points for administration of certain drugs, helping you integrate clinical knowledge with heart rhythm interpretation. NEW! Author's Notes highlight special considerations, alternative diagnoses, possible complications or warning signs, normal variations, and more, allowing learners to benefit from the author's expertise. NEW! A bulleted Take-Home Points summary of each chapter highlights need-to-know information about the most important topics covered. NEW! Updated process for distinguishing ventricular tachycardia from supraventricular tachycardia keeps you at the forefront of practice. NEW! Now examines treatment of bradycardias and blocks with and without wide QRS.
Publication Date: 2016-10-17
Laboratory Tests and Diagnostic Procedures by Find complete answers to questions such as which laboratory tests to order or what the results might mean. Laboratory Tests and Diagnostic Procedures, 6th Edition covers more tests than any other reference of its kind, with over 900 lab tests and diagnostic procedures in all. In Part I, you'll find an alphabetical list of hundreds of diseases, conditions, and symptoms, including the tests and procedures most commonly used to confirm or rule out a suspected diagnosis. In Part II, you'll find descriptions of virtually every laboratory and diagnostic test available. This edition is updated with the latest research and over 20 NEW test entries. Written by educator Cynthia Chernecky and clinical nurse specialist Barbara Berger, this lab reference covers today's lab tests with concise, easy-to-use information. More than 900 laboratory tests and diagnostic procedures are included - more than any other reference! Over 600 diseases, conditions, and symptoms are listed, along with the tests used to confirm them. Alphabetical organization and A-to-Z thumb tabs make it easy to find the information you're looking for. Alternative test names and acronyms are cross-referenced to simplify lookup. Instructions for client and family teaching help you offer guidance concerning test preparation and follow-up care. Age and gender-specific norms are provided, giving you complete lifespan coverage. Risks and Contraindications are highlighted to help you safeguard your patients and provide effective care. Panic Level Symptoms and Treatment are provided for dangerously increased and decreased levels. Minimum volumes for blood samples are included, useful when a client's blood preservation is essential, as well as information on whether blood specimens can be drawn during hemodialysis. Tests for toxic substances are included, making this a lab, diagnostic, and toxicology book all in one. Abbreviations, measurement prefixes, and symbols are listed on the front and back covers for convenience. Information on herbal supplements indicates when a client's use of natural remedies might affect test results. Over 20 NEW test entries present the latest tests and procedures, with a strong focus on affordable, clinically relevant genetic tests. UPDATED content includes the latest research relating to accuracy of tests, diagnostic value of results, and associated cost-benefit ratios.
Publication Date: 2012-11-20
Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) by Select nursing interventions with the book that standardizes nursing language! Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC), 7th Edition provides a research-based clinical tool to help you choose appropriate interventions. It standardizes and defines the knowledge base for nursing practice as it communicates the nature of nursing. More than 550 nursing interventions are described - from general practice to all specialty areas. From an expert author team led by Howard Butcher, this book is an ideal tool for practicing nurses and nursing students, educators seeking to enhance nursing curricula, and nursing administrators seeking to improve patient care. It's the only comprehensive taxonomy of nursing-sensitive interventions available! More than 550 research-based nursing intervention labels are included, along with specific activities used to carry out interventions. Descriptions of each intervention include a definition, a list of activities, a publication facts line, and references. Specialty core interventions are provided for 53 specialties. NEW! 16 NEW interventions are added to this edition, including health coaching, phytotherapy, management of acute pain, and management of chronic pain. UPDATED! 95 interventions have been revised. NEW! Five label name changes are included.
Publication Date: 2018-02-06
Sheehy's Emergency Nursing by Written by emergency nurses for emergency nurses, Sheehy's Emergency Nursing: Principles and Practice, 7th Edition covers the issues and procedures unique to the emergency department. This comprehensive, evidence-based resource is written by the Emergency Nurses Association and includes developments and changes in clinical practice that are incorporated throughout the text. Considered the go-to guide for issues and procedures unique to the emergency department, the user-friendly format features more than 150 high-quality illustrations and tables that highlight essential concepts and offer quick access to vital information. New to this edition is updated key coverage including clinical fundamentals, treatment for trauma and medical-surgical emergencies, the foundations of emergency nursing practice, special populations, and more! Written by the Emergency Nurses Association, ensuring this is the most accurate information on the market. Most comprehensive and authoritative text available on emergency nursing. Logically organized, chapters are grouped into six sections for quick access to important content: Foundations of Emergency Nursing, Professional Practice, Clinical Foundations of Emergency Nursing, Major Trauma Emergencies, Medical and Surgical Emergencies, and Special Patient Populations. Tables and boxes highlight and summarize critical and essential information, while 150 illustrations help you to quickly identify and treat frequently encountered conditions. A separate unit on special patient populations covers topics such as child abuse, elder abuse, intimate partner violence, sexual assault, substance abuse and behavioral/pediatric/obstetrical emergencies. NEW! Coverage includes the latest on topical issues such as ethics, workplace violence, and geriatric trauma. UPDATED pain guidelines feature the latest pain indicators. UPDATED sepsis guidelines provide essential information on pathophysiology and diagnosis, with valuable guidelines for managing these patients. NEW! Fully revised information on communicable diseases. UPDATED Information on non-narcotic use for treatment of pain and increasing rates of addiction. NEW! Discussion of transgender patients covers how to work with this unique population. NEW! Full color photo insert
Publication Date: 2019-09-09
Wong's Clinical Manual of Pediatric Nursing by Portable and convenient, Wong's Clinical Manual of Pediatric Nursing, 8th Edition is your "go-to" clinical guide for the care of children and their families, whether in the hospital, clinic, community setting, or home. It includes assessment tools that may be used in practice, nursing care plans for specific disorders, and new information on pediatric pain assessment and management. Evidence-based guidelines are updated and also include patient teaching instructions, so you'll find all information on a specific procedure in one location. Written by leading pediatric experts David Wilson and Marilyn Hockenberry, this reference includes a companion Evolve website with nursing care plans that may be customized and printed for use with individual patients. Complete, concise assessment data on general health, specific problems, nutrition, sleep, and growth and development is easy to access in the clinical setting. UNIQUE! Evidence-based interventions include guidelines for treating pediatric patients and providing information to their families and caregivers, with new interventions added on phototherapy and asthma inhalers. UNIQUE! Safety Alerts highlight safety information throughout the book. UNIQUE! Atraumatic Care boxes contain techniques for care that minimize pain, discomfort, and stress. Nursing Care Plans include guidelines and examples for developing care plans for patients, and a companion Evolve website allows you to modify, customize, and print these care plans. UNIQUE! A community focus includes guidelines to interventions, patient teaching, and home care, along with Community Focus boxes throughout book. Tables and charts for health promotion summarize nutrition, immunizations, safety and injury prevention, and parental guidance. Common laboratory test data is provided at your fingertips. UNIQUE! Modifiable Nursing Care Plans for 24 pediatric conditions are included in the care plan constructor on the companion Evolve website. UNIQUE! Patient teaching instructions on Evolve allow you to print and disseminate sets of easy-to-understand instructions to caregivers, with 15 translated into Spanish. NEW Pain Assessment and Management unit presents pain management strategies for the neonate, child, and adolescent. NEW! Full-color photos of dermatologic conditions help you diagnose the pediatric dermatologic problems most commonly seen in practice.
Publication Date: 2011-08-18
In the State of California, Registered nurses are required by law to complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years. SJMC Medical Library has print and electronic resources available for our nurses to help meet their CE requirements.
- ClinicalKey for Nursing CE: Read Clinical Skills needed and earn CE credits. See the attached document below to follow the steps..
- CINAHL® Plus with Full Text CE: See the attached document below to follow the steps.
- Medscape Nurse CE: Medscape, LLC ("Medscape") is accredited by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) to provide continuing nursing education
- UpToDate CE for Nurse Practitioner: Create and Log into your personal account first to be linked. UpToDate is also accredited by the American Association of NursePractitioners (AANP) to award NP CE contact hours.
- My FREE CE for Nurses: Fee Based. No DH group plan is available.
Clinical Practice Guidelines
Selected specific new recommendations and/or updates that may change usual clinical practice.
Nursing Tutorial - Evidence Based Practice
What is Evidence-Based Practice?
Evidence-Based Nursing is, “an ongoing process by which evidence, nursing theory and the practitioners’ clinical expertise are critically evaluated and considered, in conjunction with patient involvement, to provide delivery of optimum nursing care for the individual” .
EBN is an approach to practice that is intended to improve the safety and effectiveness of nursing care and practices.
The 5 Steps of EBP: Evidence-based practice consists of five steps:
ASSESS the patient
ASK a searchable clinical question
ACQUIRE the best evidence to answer the question
APPRAISE the evidence
APPLY to the patient
Also consider the Type of Question you are asking and determine what Study Type might be most relevant.
Most Clinical Questions: Meta-analyses, systematic reviews
Therapy: Randomized Controlled Trial
Diagnosis: Prospective, blind controlled trial compared to gold standard
Prognosis: Cohort study, case control, case series/case report
A collection of articles from American Journal of Nursing were developed to give nurses the knowledge and skills they need to implement EBP consistently, one step at a time.This series has received the Nursing Media Award for Print from Sigma Theta Tau International Awards for Nursing Excellence.
Evidence-Based Practice, Step by Step
Provided by Penn State University Library
Developed by Helen Chang, MLIS, AHIP, Library Service Manager at St. Joseph's Medical Center, Stockton, CA