LibGuides: Joseph E. Bellis Medical Library: Home

About Us

Library Location:

St. Mary Medical Center, 2nd Floor 1050 Linden Ave., Long Beach, CA 90813

Image result for st mary medical center long beach

Library Services Hours:

Librarian Nancy Berkoff available Tuesday-Thursday 8:30am-12:30pm email: nancy.berkoff@commonspirit.com

Access the library 24/7 with your SMMC ID badge.

Access licensed online resource with your DH network username & password via OpenAthens.

Available for Use:

9 general use computers, 1 printer

4-in-1 (copy/printer/scanner/fax)

5 house phones

15 seats (study tables, meeting table)

Library Service Requests

Research Requests

The Librarian is available to help with your research using a variety of databases.

Complete the Research Request Form - OR -
Email a detailed request with search terms & limits to nancy.berkoff@commonspirit.org

Specify a Need By Date.

Article Requests

The Librarian is available to obtain journal articles you need.

Complete the Article Request Form, - OR -
Email your request including citations (journal & article titles, publication date, volume, issue, pages, PMID) to nancy.berkoff@commonspirit.org

If the Library does not have a requested article, it will be obtained from another library.

Specify a Need By Date.

Department Book Orders

Department book orders are accepted in writing.

Send requests to nancy.berkoff@commonspirit.org
Include:
- Book Details: title, author, publisher, ISBN
- Quantity needed
- Department Charge Account Number with Authorized Person's Name

The Librarian will place orders & process department expense reports. Library discounts will be applied.

*OneSearch - Search across databases, journals, and books

Use OneSearch to search across: Library Catalog, CINAHL, ClinicalKey, ClinicalKey for Nursing, JAMA Network, Natural Medicines, NEJM, Ovid Medline, PubMed@SMMC

*OpenAthens authentication on-site and remote - Use CSH Network Username & Password

Resource Quick Links (Free CME/MOC/CE)

*OpenAthens authentication on-site and remote - Use CSH Network Username & Password

AORN eGuidelines* - NEW, on network access, off network OpenAthens access being established New and revised AORN Guidelines are published throughout the year on eGuidelines+ as they are updated.
California Code of Regulations
California Code of Regulations - Medical Library (Title 22, § 70761) (a) Each hospital shall maintain a medical library consistent with the needs of the hospital. (b) The medical library shall be located in a convenient location, and its contents shall be organized, easily accessible and available through authorized personnel at all times. (c) The library shall contain modern textbooks in basic sciences and other current textbooks, journals and magazines pertinent to the clinical services maintained in the hospital.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text* Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature Dignity Health network access only.
ClincalKey*(CME/MOC)
ClinicalKey for Nursing* (CE)
Clinical Skills
Cochrane Library* The Cochrane Library link via OpenAthens is not working. Please use this library website link for on-site access or your individual account when off site.
ECRI Guidelines Trust Free Access - Registration Required
EthicsFinder EthicsFinder is an easily useable, expertly curated ethics search engine database hosted by Australian Catholic University. Gathering and displaying thousands of links to existing high-quality articles, books and videos from across the web, it is a comprehensive and continually updated 'one-stop shop' for anyone interested in a broad range of ethical, philosophical, cultural and social issues and, in particular, Catholic approaches.
JAMA Network* (CME/MOC)
Lexicomp*
MedlinePlus (Consumer Heatlh, 40+ languages) Dependable consumer health source from the National Institutes of Health, with authoritative and up-to-date information compiled by the National Library of Medicine. Contains directories, a medical encyclopedia, health information in multiple languages, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, and links to thousands of clinical trials. Share with patients! Entire site transitions to Spanish.
Micromedex NeoFax/Pediatrics*
Natural Medicines* - NEW, on network access, off network OpenAthens access being established The most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.
NEJM* (CME)
Nutrition Care Manual Your NCM® subscription includes access to the largest client education library of evidence-based nutrition education materials, cutting-edge clinical nutrition resources, and a customizable diet manual with annual updates.
Ovid MEDLINE, eJournals, eBooks*
more...less...
To improve the Ovid experience, from July 28 when you visit www.ovid.com from a registered Ovid customer IP range you'll see a new home page for Ovid. The new page is designed to provide you with quick access to Ovid content, as well the many other powerful tools and solutions available through the Ovid platform.
PubMed@SMMC
Use Dignity Health St. Mary Medical Center icon to Access or Request full-text articles.
UpToDate* (CME/MOC/CS/CPD)
Journal of Wellnes

Bellis Medical Library

History

The Bellis Medical Library is named in tribute after Joseph E. Bellis, father of Dr. Carroll J. Bellis.

Donations

Contact the St. Mary Medical Center Foundation to make monetary library donations @ (562) 491-9888.

Joseph E. Bellis Medical Library: Home

Welcome to the Bellis Library Resources!