Skip to Main Content

Joseph E. Bellis Medical Library: Resource Tutorials

​Providing Evidence Based Knowledge to Save Lives - Proud to Serve St. Mary Medical Center, Long Beach, CA

Resource Tutorials: Improve your search skills. Schedule a search coaching session with your librarian.

Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature

Provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2.3 million records dating back to 1981. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

Introducing the next generation of ClinicalKey.

We are excited to share with you changes to ClinicalKey that will help clinicians and students find current, credible, evidence-based information as quickly as possible.

Changes to ClinicalKey and ClinicalKey Nursing will allow users to quickly find, synthesize, and apply the information they need to inform decisions or develop treatment plans.

For a quick guide to these changes click here.

ClinicalKey enhancements - overview (1:48) ClinicalKey enhancements – case study (4:36)

COVID-19: Keep current with ClinicalKey

Webinar (23:43)
How to use ClinicalKey to search for latest evidence-based information on Novel Coronavirus – COVID 19 and to take advantage of the advanced functionality tools to share content with colleagues and patients.

Clinical Overview (1:47) – concise and key points of the latest findings, diagnosis and differential diagnosis.

Read the clinical overview on COVID-19 in ClinicalKey. 

Patient Education –  save time by printing and handing out material to patients, including information on signs, symptoms and risks.

Novel Coronavirus Information Center: Visit Elsevier free health and medical research on novel coronavirus COVID-19.

Access More Full-Text in PubMed via Dignity Health, St. Mary Medical Center Links established by the Bellis Medical Library.

Select St. Mary Medical Center, Bellis Medial Library as your MyNCBI account's Outside Tool.  - Instructions 

Accessing UpToDate - training videos

  • UpToDate login

    • Log in to earn CME credits and enjoy uninterrupted mobile access.

  • UpToDate Mobile App

    • This short demo shows you how to install the UpToDate Mobile App and reviews its features and functionality.

  • UpToDate Advanced conduct a search

    • Find Clinical Pathways and Lab Interpretation monographs in your search results.

  • Clinical Tools

    • Access hospital's formularies - simplify and improve drug ordering.
    • Calculators - provides easy access to more than 195 medical calculators right in the clinical workflow.
    • Drug Database - contains more than 6,500 unique adult, pediatric, and international drug entries provided by Lexicomp®.
    • Drug Interactions Tool - to help minimize risk and increase patient safety.
    • Graphics -  more than 35,000 pictures, figures, tables, graphs, algorithms, and videos.

  • Earn and Redeem CME/CE/CPD Credit

    • Clinicians can use the time they already spend researching clinical questions with UpToDate toward continuing professional development requirements at no extra cost, with no additional testing.
    • Learn how to quickly and easily redeem CME/CE/CPD credits right form the UpToDate Mobile App.
    • Clinicians can use credits earned from use of UpToDate to fulfill ABIM MOC requirements.

 

Developed by Judy Kraemer, MLIS, MBA, Medical Librarian, Esmeralda Herrejon, Library Intern at St. Mary Medical Center, Long Beach