Literature Search
- Medical Library Search -Click
Books for Medical Students
Case Files Critical Care, Second Edition by Call Number: WX 18.2ISBN: 9781259641855Publication Date: 2017-09-22
Case Files Emergency Medicine, Fourth Edition by Call Number: WB 18.2 2017ISBN: 9781259640827Publication Date: 2017-08-17
Case Files Family Medicine 5th Edition by Call Number: WB 18.2 2016ISBN: 9781260468595Publication Date: 2020-11-10
Case Files Internal Medicine, Sixth Edition by Call Number: WB 18.2 2017ISBN: 9781260469967Publication Date: 2020-11-10
Case Files Obstetrics and Gynecology, Sixth Edition by Call Number: WQ 18.2 2016ISBN: 9781260468786Publication Date: 2021-10-01
Case Files Surgery, Sixth Edition by Call Number: WO 18.2 2016ISBN: 9781260468809Publication Date: 2021-10-22
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Otolaryngology--Head and Neck Surgery, Fourth Edition by Call Number: WV 150 C976 2020ISBN: 9780071847643Publication Date: 2020-01-09
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twentieth Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by ISBN: 9781259644030Publication Date: 2018-08-13
Journals for Medical Students
- JAMA and JAMA Journals Remote access: After clicking on "Institutional Sign in", enter "Commonspirit Health" in Find Institution.
- NEJMFor remote access of NEJM related journals (AI, Journal Watch, Catalyst, Evidence), please click, "Institutional Sign In" to find St. Joseph's Medical Center
- NEJM Journal Watch Provide reviews and commentaries for over 250 scientific and medical journals
Case Files Collection available!
The Case Files Collection can help students at all levels excel in coursework and in clinical rotations ( 1300+ cases)
- The complete collection of basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files® series books
- An interactive format to help students learn and retain knowledge through exposure to realistic patient cases
- Personalized functionality to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases
To get it started, set up your free MyAccess Profile in 3 easy steps:
- Go to Case Files Collection, you must be on-site at your institution or connect through your institution’s VPN or library website.
- Click on your institution’s name in the upper right-hand corner of any page. Once there, click on “Create a Free MyAccess Profile.”
- In the pop-up window, click “Create a Free MyAccess Profile.” Complete the registration form & select “Create Profile.”
Educational Resources
Best Evidence Resources
- ACCESSSS (McMaster+)Provides "one-stop" access to pre-appraised evidence to address this key question: what is the current best evidence available to support clinical decisions.
Registration is required but is free - OrthoEvidenceRegistration is required but it is free.
Databases
- AccessAnesthesiology AccessAnesthesiology provides leading textbooks in Anesthesiology such as Morgan and Mikhail’s Clinical Anesthesiology and Anesthesiology by Longnecker. The site also includes narrated videos designed to teach techniques and interventions, interactive self-assessment and hundreds of review questions designed to help users prepare for exams.
- AccessMedicine Provides more than 150 leading medical text books including Harrison's Internal Medicine, guidelines, self assessment tool and differential diagnosis.
- Library Catalog (Enter "SJMC Library" for Library Name, NO Password) Search the catalog for Library resources, especially for print books on the library shelf
- Medical Library Search It provides links to all the institutional databases and popular journals. One -stop Access point of all the resources
- VisualDX Provides curated medical Image library, leading skin of color atlas to support diagnostic clinical decision, enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve pateint saftey.
- Wiley Medicine and Nursing Collection There are more than 400 full text Wiley journals available for nursing and medicine.
Library Logistics
Access: 24/7
Badge Access: Before 8:00am, After 4:30pm and Holidays
Contact Librarian: (209) 467-6332 or Helen.Chang@commonspirit.org
SJMC Medical Library provides the following service for our learners:
- Expert Searching - database workthrough or workshop available upon request.
- Research, Presentation, and publishing support - Literature searches, database/journal selection are provided.
- Patient education assistance - Mutil-language pateint educational material is delivered to patient area upon request.
- Article delivery - If the article you need is not available from onsite resources, it is obtained for you via interlibrary loan
- Current awareness / Keeping up - eAlert service or Table of content service is offered for the journals you like to follow.
- Access from home, office, and mobile device - OpenAthens for remoteaccess, mobile apps are available for library resources
If you need assistnace, Contact the librarian, Helen Chang or Call at 209-467-6332
All the library computers except one non-networked computer are conncected with a big black copier, SJMPMDS006. It provides muti functions such as faxing, copying, and printing, etc
- DO NOT leave patient records behind the printer.-HIPAA violation
- Covered Drinks and Light Snacks/are permitted. Light snack is OK but no smelly food.
- Vibrate cell phones and talk on the phone outside the library
- Do not leave your beloings (backpack, water bottle, etc) unattended in the library.
- Report malfunciong issues of hardwares and library equipment to the librarian