Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Citatation and Research Management Tools

What is EndNote?

​EndNote is a reference and full-text organizer that allows you to create bibliographies and format documents in a large number of output styles.

EndNote is available as a standalone software product, a cloud based product known as EndNote Web, or a combination of the two. 

Use EndNote to:

  • Search hundreds of online resources for references and PDFs. 
  • Read, review, annotate, and search PDFs
  • Create rules to automatically organize references as you work.
  • Share a library or just a portion with new group collaboration options.
  • Build your bibliography using latest reference types and ensure bibliography accuracy with refreshed journal and referencing styles.

Getting EndNote X9 or 20 via SJMC

  • St. Joseph's Medical Center has a multi-user license for EndNote X9 and 20 version.   Contact the GME research director Teri Kozik to get a user license for your scholarly research activities.

How to Use EndNote X9 in 6 minutes: Window

How to Use EndNote X9 in 6 minutes: macOS

What's New with EndNote 20

EndNote 20 features include the ability to:

  • Insert in-text citations and create bibliographies with Cite While You Write (CWYW)
  • Rapidly import database files
  • Sync to EndNote Online
  • Share libraries
  • Customize citation styles

This video provides an overview tour of the new features added in EndNote 20. These enhancements include a modern library interface, additional comparison fields for detecting duplicate references, a redesigned PDF viewer allowing for a more responsive reading experience, and multitasking improvements that make switching between windows and library tabs easier.

What is Zotero?

 

Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, open-source, easy-to-use citation management tool to help you collect, organize, and cite your research sources. It lives right where you do your work in the web browser itself. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.

Use Zotero to:

  • Create a personal database online
  • Import references automatically from most research databases and library catalogs
  • Organize and annotate references
  • Format references and bibliographies in Microsoft Word and other word processing program documents
  • Format citations automatically in any of hundreds of styles, such as the Chicago Manual of Style, APA, and MLA
  • Share your citations or collaborate with others online through Zotero Group 

Get started in four easy steps:

1. Create your free Zotero account

2. Download and install the Zotero application

3. Sync your account by adding your username and password to the app in your Preferences > Sync

4. Add a browser connection to save items on the go

This was inspired by Penn Libraries.  

What is Mendeley?

 

Mendeley is a free* research tool that assists at every stage of the research process, from gathering research to reading and annotating PDFs to organizing citations and creating bibliographies. Mendeley replicates features that are found in other citation management tools  (EndNote, RefWorks, Zotero, Academia.edu, LinkedIn, SelectedWorks, Papers, etc..) but also provides Reference Manager, PDF Organizer and Social Network.

 

Mendely provides a word citation plug-in, can save PDFs to your desktop/web library via a browser plug-in, and is compatible with Mac, Windows, and Linux. 

*Mendeley offers a free basic account, which provides 2 GB of storage,but you can access premium features and additional storage for a monthly fee starting at 4.99/month. You can find more information on individual and team plans on the Mendeley Upgrade page.

Accessing Mendeley

There are several ways to add and edit information on your Mendeley account, including:

 

This was inspired by Penn Libraries.