Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GME Resources: Off Site Access

Off-Site Access with OpenAthens

Offsite Access    

The SJMC library uses the OpenAthens application to authenticate the identity of users who are authorized to access the library's licensed resources.

Did you already create your OpenAthens account? Then Sign into OpenAthens to access all the library resources remotely with just single sing-on.

Register for OpenAthens

Please note OpenAthens registration link below is strictly licensed for St. Joseph's Medical Center (SJMC) staff in Stockton, CA. If you are outside of SJMC, please contact your librarian. 

Please follow the steps to create an OpenAthens account. 

1.  Registration for OpenAthens is required and limited to only SJMC staff. 

2: Open your email after submitting registration

3. Create a password by clicking the link provided in the email.

4. Once your password is created, Sign in to OpenAthens and bookmark it.

* The user Id can be either your email address associated with your registration or a user name assigned by OpenAthens.

Signing In to OpenAthens (Remote Access)

There are two options to sing in to OpenAthens for Off-site access.

1. Bookmark the link to OpenAthens authentication page and enter your OpenAthens username or your email address and password and click "sign in"

 

2. Google Medical Library, St. Joseph's Medical Center Dignity Health  and Click  Medical Library's Online Resources to sign into remote access.

 

 

3. Google "MyAthens OpenAthens" for remote access. Enter St. Joseph's Medical Center in Find your Instiution box.  Enter your OpenAthens username (email address) and password.  Click the orange box "Click SJMC Medical Library Search" on the right side.

 

Off -Site Access to Individual Database

Please Note: Once you create an OpenAthens account, all the resources below except UpToDate are available remotely via SJMC Medial Library Search portal.

Access Series: AccessMedicine, Access Emergency, AccessSurgery

  • Sign into your OpenAthens account and Click the database you need on Medical Library Search
  • OR directly go to each database website on your internet browser and sign in with your MyAccess account or OpenAthens account.

Case Files Collections (CFC)

  • Sign into Off-Site Access (OpenAthens) and click Case Files Collection on Medical Library Search  OR 

  • OR go to  Case Files Collection  at https://casefiles.mhmedical.com/ on your browser and sign in to  MyAccess profile.

    • Please note: It is required to create MyAccess profile.You will still need to log in with your individually created MyAccess profile ID and pw after you get into Case Files Collection via Medical Library Search, OpenAthens or its website both on and off-site.

ClinicalKey Anywhere

  • If you haven't already, register for an account on www.ClinicalKey.com using your Dignity Health assigned email address from a computer connected to the Dignity Health network. If you do not have a Dignity Health email, contact your librarian. 
  • After registering, navigate to https://www.clinicalkey.com/#!/remote-access OR click on your profile icon in the top right corner and then click on “Remote Access.” You must be on the Dignity Health Network.
  • Provide your Dignity Health email address. Select “Dignity Health - Remote Access.” 
  • Check your Dignity Health email on the same device you intend to access ClinicalKey and there should be an email from ClinicalKey to activate your remote access. You have initiate a separate email and follow this process over again for each device you intend to access ClinicalKey with. 

Cochrane Library Anywhere

  • If you haven't already, register for an account on http://www.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/action/registration using your Dignity Health assigned email address from a computer connected to the Dignity Health network.
  • If you already have an account, simply login anywhere for remote access.

Journal of American Medical Association (JAMA) Anywhere

  • If you haven't already, create an account on www.jamanetwork.com using your Dignity Health assigned email address from a computer connected to the Dignity Health network.
  • If you already have an account, simply login anywhere for remote access.

New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) Anywhere

  • If you haven't already, create an account on www.nejm.org from a computer connected to the Dignity Health network.
  • If you already have an account, simply login anywhere for remote access.

Psychiatry Online

  • Sign in to Medical Library Search via OpenAthens and click on Psychiatry Online 
  • OR go to  https://psychiatryonline.org/ on your internet browser and click "Sign in" on the upper right hand corner.
    • Find our institution's name as St Joseph's Medical Center and sign into your OpenAthens account  Please Note: there is no "Period" after St  in our hospital name in the list.  So type in St Joseph's Medical Center instead of St. Joseph's. 
    • OR sign into your personal account you created for psychiatry online using hospital computers 

SJMC PubMed Anywhere

  • Bookmark SJMC PubMed on your computer and get easy access to full text articles with your OpenAthens Account.
  • MyNCBI: If you haven't already, create a My NCBI account on http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/
    • My NCBI is a tool that retains user information and database preferences to provide customized services for many NCBI databases. It allows you to save searches, select display formats, filtering options, and set up automatic searches that are sent by e-mail.
  • If you already have a MyNCBI account, open SJMC PubMed and simply login to MyNCBI to access your saved bibliographies or request full text articles.

UpToDate Anywhere

  • If you haven't already, register for an account on www.UpToDate.com from a computer connected to the Dignity Health network.
  • If you have already registered, simply log in anywhere for remote access. **In order to maintain uninterrupted access to UpToDate you must log in on the Dignity Health network every 90 days.**

Wiley Medicine and Nursing Collection

Two Options are available for remote access to Wiley collection

  1. Create your personal Wiley account by using hospital computer and log into Wiley Online Library
  2. Go to Wiley Online Library, Click on Log in on the upper right hand corner, Click on "Insitutional login" in the bottom and Sign in with your OpenAthens account.