Literature Search
New Resources - Print books
Johns Hopkins EBP for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals, 5th edition: WY 100/7 J 2025
Facilitator Guide for Johns Hopkins EBP for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals, 5th edition WY 100.7 F 2025
Workbook for Johns Hopkins EBP for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals, 5th edition WY 100.7 W 2025
Nursing Books
-
AACN Procedure Manual for Progressive and Critical Care
by
**Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 with "Essential Purchase" designation in Critical Care** Edited by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses and written by more than 100 critical care experts under the direction of Karen L. Johnson, PhD, RN, FAAN, this definitive reference represents the gold standard of care for procedures performed in progressive and critical care settings. It guides you through procedures common to the adult critical care environment, including those performed by advanced practice nurses, in an illustrated, step-by-step format. This edition - now in in full color - features new procedures, new and updated illustrations, and updated content throughout, reflecting the latest evidence-based guidelines and national and international protocols. Quick-reference tabs make it easier than ever to locate content quickly. This new edition integrates key AACN initiatives, such as Practice Alerts, and coordinates closely with the AACN Core Curriculum for Progressive and Critical Care Nursing, 8th Edition. Chapter-specific quick-links employ QR codes for instant access to high-quality online references. Edited by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses, written by more than 100 expert critical care clinicians under the direction of Karen L. Johnson, PhD, RN, FAAN, and extensively reviewed by more than 100 additional critical care experts to ensure the accuracy and currency. Comprehensive coverage includes all procedures commonly performed in progressive and critical care settings, including those performed by advanced practice nurses (indicated by an AP icon). Straightforward, step-by-step organization uses consistent headings to make following a procedure (and finding the various supporting elements) quick and easy, with bulleted lists, tables, and detailed illustrations throughout to ensure that content is easy to reference and follow. Rationales for all interventions in patient and family education, assessment, patient preparation, procedure, and monitoring help students understand the rationale for every step, and a level of evidence is provided when a research base exists to substantiate an intervention, giving insight into the strength of recommendations. NEW! Additional procedures, new and updated illustrations, and updated content throughout reflect the latest evidence-based guidelines and national and international protocols. NEW! Full-color design with color reference tabs enhances navigation, plus full-color illustrations reinforce understanding. UPDATED! Key AACN initiatives, such as Practice Alerts, are integrated throughout, and content coordinates with the AACN Core Curriculum for Progressive and Critical Care Nursing, 8th Edition. NEW! Chapter-specific quick-links via QR codes provide quick access to online references, which have been updated and limited to the highest-value sources.
ISBN: 9780323793810Publication Date: 2023-10-05 -
Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery
by
Gain the knowledge and skills you need to provide safe, effective perioperative nursing care! Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery, 17th Edition is the definitive resource for nurses and surgical technologists training for a career in the operating room. Illustrated, step-by-step instructions cover patient care in more than 400 surgical interventions, including patient positioning, instrumentation, and postoperative care. Along with the latest on robotic surgery and a review of evidence-based guidelines, this edition includes new coverage of COVID-19 and gender affirmation surgery. From well-known educator Jane C. Rothrock - and with every chapter authored by an expert nurse - Alexander's gives you the tools you need to pass the CNOR© certification exam and succeed in the surgical setting. Comprehensive coverage includes basic perioperative nursing principles, such as patient and environmental safety, infection prevention, patient positioning, anesthesia and pain management, and the unique needs of special populations such as pediatric and geriatric patients. Coverage of more than 400 general and specialty surgical interventions includes minimally invasive and robotic-assisted surgical procedures, whether performed in a hospital, ambulatory surgery setting, or in a doctor's office. Perioperative nursing considerations are presented within the nursing process framework and include assessment, nursing diagnosis, outcome identification, planning, implementation, evaluation, discharge planning, and patient and family education. More than 1,000 full-color photos and illustrations show surgical anatomy, procedures, methods, and equipment. Sample plans of care include nursing diagnoses, outcomes, and interventions. Research Highlight and Evidence for Practice boxes discuss recommendations for applying current scientific research to patient care. Robotic-Assisted Surgery boxes highlight a rapidly expanding surgical modality. Enhanced Recovery After Surgery boxes promote protocols to improve outcomes, reduce the length of stay, and reduce the patient's cost of care. Patient Engagement Exemplar boxes optimize surgical outcomes by addressing AORN guidelines on the issues of patient care and involvement of the patient's family. Patient Safety boxes highlight practices and initiatives for patient safety in the surgical setting. Patient, Family, and Caregiver Education boxes include specific guidelines for preprocedural and/or postprocedural care, potential complications, home care, discharge instructions, and psychosocial care. Ambulatory Surgery Considerations boxes highlight patient selection criteria, special anesthesia considerations, and patient assessment implications for outpatient surgical procedures. Surgical Pharmacology tables summarize the drugs most commonly used for each surgical specialty, including generic and trade names, indications, and pharmacokinetics. Critical Thinking questions at the end of each chapter let you assess your understanding of important material. Exam-style practice questions on the Evolve website include answers and rationales. References to AORN Guidelines and toolkits are discussed as relevant to the topic. NEW! Additional content on infection prevention includes coverage of Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2), Candida auris. NEW! Coverage of discharge planning and gender affirmation surgery is added to this edition.
ISBN: 9780323776806Publication Date: 2022-08-08 -
Berry and Kohn's Operating Room Technique
by
Call Number: WY 162 P562b 2013 (12th ed)ISBN: 9780443105234Publication Date: 2024-09-18 -
Cardiac Nursing
by
Cardiac Nursing: A Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease is the only comprehensive text available for cardiac nurses. This brand-new reference emphasizes both evidence-based practice and hands-on care in a high-tech, high-touch approach that meets the high-stakes needs of cardiac and critical care nurses. What's more, the book makes the material easily accessible by using clear language, straightforward text, and plenty of illustrations, lists, and tables. This book is the third in a series of companion texts for Braunwald's Heart Disease and the first specifically for nurses. Authored by the widely published, well-known co-editors of The Journal of Cardiovascular Nursing--two leaders in cardiac nursing. Endorsed by the authors of Braunwald's Heart Disease, including Eugene Braunwald, the physician considered by many to be the "father of modern cardiology." Evidence-based Practice boxes highlight research-supported advances in knowledge and care practices. Conundrum boxes helps readers hone their critical thinking skills by tackling tough questions for which there may be no easy answers. Technology boxes keeps readers up to date with the latest technological advances. Genetics boxes helps readers understand connections between genes and heart disease. Pharmacology tables present important drug-related information at a glance. A guide to cardiac abbreviations and acronyms gives nurses quick access to essential information.
Publication Date: 2007-08-08 -
-
-
ECG Interpretation Made Incredibly Easy!
by
Publication Date: 2015-12-09 -
-
-
-
-
-
Red Book 2024-2027: Report of Committee on Infectious Diseases
by
ISBN: 9781610027342Publication Date: 2024-05-20 -
-
Wound Care Essentials
by
Publication Date: 2015-09-18
Nursing Databases
-
AORN eGuidelines (Internal) Each AORN Guideline includes recommendations intended to optimize patient care that are informed by a systematic review of evidence and an assessment of the benefits and harms of alternative care options. The Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses (PRISMA) is used to prepare transparent accounts of the systematic reviews that inform each guideline.
-
ClinicalKey for Nursing ClinicalKey for Nursing provides clinically relevant answers for nurses, including evidence-based nursing monographs, books, journals and practice guidelines.
-
MedlinePlus MedlinePlus is an online information service produced by the United States National Library of Medicine. The service provides curated consumer health information in English and Spanish.
-
NeoFax & Pediatrics Micromedex® NeoFax® and Pediatrics provides evidence-based drug information, age and indication-specific drug-dosing calculators, and enteral formula nutritional information for the neonatal and pediatric populations.
-
PubMed@SJMC PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
-
Wiley Medical and Nursing Collection There are about 400 Wiley full text journals available in Medicine and Nursing area out of all the resources in Wiley Online Library. To browse the collection, scroll down and click Medicine or Nursing under Subject. Use Publication Finder to find the journals needed and available at SJMC.
Commonspirit National Nursing (Internal Use)
Nursing Research and Evidence-Based Practice (EBP)
CommonSpirit nurses engage in scholarly activity through actively conducting research, evidence-based practice projects and practicing with a spirit of inquiry.
-
Evidence-Based Practice: is the integration of clinical expertise, patient values, and the best research evidence into the decision-making process for patient care
- EBP Approval Process
- EBP Educational Workshop Series
- EBP Resources
- Ovid Synthesis
- Recordings and Posters and Presentations of 2025 EBP Syposium 2025.
- Research is the systematic investigation, including research development, testing, and evaluation designed to develop or contribute to generalizable knowledge.
- Research Support
-
CommonSpirit Health Research Insitute (CSHRI) oversees research across the enterprise.
-
ALL potential research studies must undergo institutional review board (IRB) determination at CommonSpirit Health. Note: students should obtain their school IRB approval first, then undergo CommonSpirit Health IRB approval
-
CSHRI Institutional Review Board (click): Phone: 1-844-626-2299
-
Research Institute National Team (click)
-
-
CITI Training : How to get started with CITI Human Subject Protection Training under CommonSpirit Health Requirements.
- Research Support
-
Nursing Journal Club : This power point toolkit guides CommonSprit Health Nurses in starting and supporting Journal Club
National Nurse Residency Program(NNRP)
CommonSpirit Health's National Nurse Residency Program (NNRP) is a standardized, evidence-based program designed to transition newly licensed nurses to practice safely and effectively at our care sites.
Magnet Recognition Program (ANCC)
Nursing Journals on OVID
Nursing Journals on ClinicalKey and Wiley
-
More Journal on Wiley More than 400 Wiley journals in Medicine and Nursing are available in full texts.
Nursing CEUs
In the State of California, Registered nurses are required by law to complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years. SJMC Medical Library has print and electronic resources available for our nurses to help meet their CE requirements.
- ClinicalKey for Nursing CE: Read Clinical Skills needed and earn CE credits. See the attached document below to follow the steps..
- CINAHL CEU Modules: Each CEU moduel consists of course material, an interactive review, and a competency test with a certificate of completion. When you start to search CINAHL, place a check in the box for CE module.
- Medscape Nurse CE: Medscape, LLC ("Medscape") is accredited by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) to provide continuing nursing education
- UpToDate CE for Nurse Practitioner: Create and Log into your personal account first to be linked. UpToDate is also accredited by the American Association of NursePractitioners (AANP) to award NP CE contact hours.
- Ovid Nursing Journal CEs: CE tests are provided for certain articles of many of the OVID nursing journals. Enter " CE" in the search box in the upper left column for "All Issues" in each nursing journal site in OVID Journal platfrom such as:
- AJN, American Journal of Nursing
- CIN: Computers, Informatics, Nursing
- Dimentions of Critical Care Nursing
- Dimensions of Critical Care Nursing
- Home Healthcare Nurse
- Journal of Cardiovascular Nursing
- Journal of Hospice & Palliative Nursing
- Journal of Perinatal & Neonatal Nursing
- Journal of Wound, Ostomy & Coninence Nursing
- Nursing
- Nursing Management